Groth Music home

Effortless Mastery - Book/Online Audio

Catalog: EMBK

Price: $24.95

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


Playing music should be as simple and natural as drawing a breath, yet most musicians are hindered by self-consciousness, apprehension, self-doubt, and stress. Before we can truly express our inner self, we must first learn to be at peace and overcome the distractions that can make performance difficult. Kenny's remarkable work deals directly with these hindrances, and presents ways to let our natural creative powers flow freely with minimal stress and effort. Includes access to inspiring recordings of meditations designed to initiate positive thought. This book has become a favorite of many musicians who credit it with changing their lives! Many are so impressed that they buy copies for their musician friends as gifts. Easy, effortless reading paperback.

"Effortless Mastery is a book that the world really needs. It was not written by a philosopher or an academic. Kenny Werner, is one of my favorite pianists I've ever had the pleasure of working with, and in my opinion one of the best pianists living on the planet. Kenny teaches that 'The joy of practicing is concentration. The joy of playing is liberation.' Effortless Mastery teaches the seeker how to achieve both at the highest levels. It also shows how to practice effectively, promoting real growth and how to play and perform free from fear and self-judgment. I highly recommend this book." ---Quincy Jones

Table of Contents:
  • Preface
  • 1. Introduction
  • 2. My Story
  • 3. Why Do We Play?
  • 4. Beyond Limited Goals
  • 5. Fear, the Mind and the Ego
  • 6. Fear-Based Practicing
  • 7. Teaching Dysfunctions: Fear-Based Teaching
  • 8. Hearing Dysfunctions: Fear-Based Listening
  • 9. Fear-Based Composing
  • 10. "The Space"
  • 11. "There Are No Wrong Notes"
  • 12. Meditation #1
  • 13. Effortless Mastery
  • 14. Meditation #2
  • 15. Affirmations
  • 16. The Steps to Change
  • 17. Step One
  • 18. Step Two
  • 19. Step Three
  • 20. Step Four
  • 21. An Afterthought
  • 22. I Am Great, I Am a Master
  • 23. Stretching the Form
  • 24. The Spiritual (Reprise)
  • One Final Meditation
Publisher: Aebersold
Composer/Author: Werner, Kenny
Catalog Number: EMBK
Pages: 196