Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Selected Works for Keyboard, Volume 1 - Organ

Price: $41.50


The court organist Antonio de Cabezon, who was appointed to Queen Isabella’s court chapel in Toledo at the young age of 16, was rightly regarded by his contemporaries as the leading Spanish organist and keyboard player of the 16 th century. His hymns and versets are based on short, decorated harmonisations of the psalm tones. In the tientos, the transformation from vocal motet style to a style of writing suitable for keyboard instruments is perfectly executed.

This Urtext edition contains a selection of Cabezon’s best known works and will consist of four volumes. It has been prepared by two editors working at Portuguese and Spanish universities who are both leading scholars of the works of Cabezon and reflects the latest research findings.

Table of Contents:
  • Duo para principiantes
  • Duo para principiantes
  • Duo para principiantes
  • Fabordones del cuarto tono
  • Fabordones del sexto tono
  • Himno "Ave maris stella" (3 Settings)
  • Himno "Pange lingua"
  • Himno "Quem terra, pontus"
  • Himno "Sacris solemniis"
  • Himno "Te lucis ante terminum"
  • Secuencia "Dic nobis Maria"
  • Tiento del cuarto tono
  • Tiento del cuarto tono sobre "Malheur me bat"
  • Tiento del primer tono
  • Tiento del quinto tono
  • Tiento del sexto tono
  • Versos del segundo tono
  • Versos del septimo tono

    Publisher: Barenreiter
    Composer/Author: Cabezon, Antonio de
    Arranger/Editor: Doderer & Ripoll
    Catalog Number: BA9261
    Pages: 68

  • Related Products: