Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

3 Romances Op. 94 - Oboe (or Violin or Clarinet in A) and Piano

Price: $8.09


Robert Schumann composed Three Romances for oboe and piano in 1849, while he was resident in Dresden. Their first public performance was not until 1863 in Leipzig, with Emilius Lund as oboist and Carl Reinecke as pianist. Reinecke was a fixture in Leipzig musical life for decades as conductor of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra from 1860 to 1895 and professor of piano and composition at the Leipzig Konservatorium from 1860 to 1902.

Schumann’s publisher, Nikolaus Simrock, published the Three Romances with alternate solo parts for clarinet and for violin, an idea he had proposed to Schumann, but which Schumann had rejected. Clara Schumann seems to have preferred the version for violin, performances of which she accompanied on many occasions. The Romances have since become wildly popular with wind and string players. A search through our file cabinets at Groth Music reveals five editions for oboe (most including solo parts for other instruments), as well as arrangements for flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, viola, and cello.

The G. Schirmer edition, first issued in 1898, was edited by Henry Schradieck, a violinist.  Two copies of the solo part are included, one for Violin or Oboe and one for Clarinet in A. 

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Nicht schnell
  • 2. Einfach, innig
  • 3. Nicht schnell

    Publisher: G. Schirmer
    Composer/Author: Schumann, Robert
    Arranger/Editor: Schradieck, Henry
    Catalog Number: 50254790
    Pages: 16

  • Related Products: