Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Organ and Keyboard Works, Volume 3

Price: $52.95


With this volume, Bärenreiter is continuing the Frescobaldi Urtext edition which sets new standards offering professional musicians, musicologists and enthusiasts alike an unrivalled musical text.

Volume III includes Frescobaldi’s foreword on the performance of his keyboard music (“avvertimenti”), eleven toccatas for organ, the “madrigale passagiatio” “Ancidetemi pur d’Archadelt” (in addition Arcadelt’s madrigal of the same name in the Appendix), six canzonas, strictly contrapuntal hymns and Magnificat settings primarily intended for organists, five galliards and six correntes, the “Aria detta La Frescobalda” and three partitas.

Each volume contains an introduction which describes the genesis of the works, the situation regarding sources, performance practice as well as the editorial technique employed. A critical commentary rounds off each volume.

The series is planned to comprise six volumes.

  • Reflecting the latest musicological research
  • Detailed foreword, critical commentary, index of sources (Ger/Eng)

Table of Contents:
  • Ancidetemi pur d'Archadelt
  • Aria detta la frescobalda
  • Aria detto Balletto
  • Canzona Prima
  • Canzona Quinta
  • Canzona Seconda
  • Canzona Sesta
  • Canzona Terza
  • Corrente 2.a alio modo
  • Corrente Prima
  • Corrente Quarta
  • Corrente Quinta
  • Corrente Seconda
  • Corrente Sesta
  • Gagliarda Prima
  • Gagliarda Quarta
  • Gagliarda Quinta
  • Gagliarda Seconda
  • Gagliarda Terza
  • Hinno Ave Maris Stella
  • Hinno Dell'Apostoli
  • Hinno Della Domenica
  • Hinno iste confessor
  • Magnificat Primi Toni
  • Magnificat Secundi Toni
  • Magnificat Sesti Toni
  • Partite Sopra Ciaccona
  • Partite Sopra Passacagli
  • Quinta Toccata sopra i pedali per l'organo
  • Toccata Decima
  • Toccata Nona
  • Toccata Prima
  • Toccata Quarta Per l'organo da sonarsi alla levatione
  • Toccata Seconda
  • Toccata Sesta Per l'Organo sopra i pedali
  • Toccata Settima
  • Toccata Terza Per l'organo da sonarsi alla levatione
  • Toccata Undecima
  • VIII Toccata di durezze, e Ligature

    Publisher: Barenreiter
    Composer/Author: Frescobaldi
    Arranger/Editor: Stembridge & Gilbert
    Catalog Number: BA8414

  • Related Products: