Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Concerto in E-flat Major, Op. 36 - Clarinet and Piano

Price: $12.56


Frantisek Vincenc Kramar's birthplace was in today's Czech Republic.  He worked his way up through official and church positions in today's Slovakia, Hungary, and Austria before becoming Kapellmeister and court composer to the Imperial Court of Austria, succeeding Leopld Kozeluch.  Along the way he adopted the form of his name known to musicians today, Franz Vinzenz Krommer.  

Living from 1759 to 1831, Krommer had plenty of time to write plenty of music.  He covered all the usual forms:  Masses with orchestra, motets, symphonies, concertos, string quartets, various sonatas and chamber ensembles, and piano/harpsichord music.  Even though he was a violinist and organist, he wrote well for wind instruments and wrote marches, serenades, and "parthias" for serenade-sized ensembles.

Krommer's Clarinet Concerto, Op. 36, was first published in 1803.  The Baerenreitar Praha edition is a practical performing edition by Jiri Kratochvil.  The piano reduction is by Ladislav Simon.  Cued notes in the solo part are printed in smaller size than the soloists's notes and are further indicated by the words "Solo" and "Tutti."  Edition has rehearsal numbers but no measure numbers.  In spite of the 2003 copyright date, this publication appears to have been originally issued in 1953 under a different publisher's imprint.   


Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro
  • 2. Adagio
  • 3. Allegro moderato

    Publisher: Barenreiter-Praha
    Composer/Author: Krommer, Franz
    Arranger/Editor: Kratochvil, Jiri
    Catalog Number: H888

  • Related Products: