Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Concert Pieces Opp. 113 and 114 - Clarinet Duet and Piano

Price: $32.36

"Favorite dish in exchange for favorite music." This perfectly summarizes the genesis of the Konzertstucke. When the clarinettist Heinrich Joseph Baermann and his son Carl, who also played the basset horn, stopped to pay a visit to Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy in 1832, they came to a most curious agreement: they promised their composer friend a generous portion of Dampfnudeln (steamed dumplings) and Rahmstrudel (sweet-cheese strudel) that Mendelssohn was mad about, if he would write a piece for them which they could use on their concert tours. The Konzertstuck in f minor that originated in this fashion was followed shortly afterwards by a second one in d minor. Both are extremely effective works which wonderfully bring out the unique sound and performance technique of the two instruments from the clarinet family. Written for clarinet, bassett horn, and piano, this edition includes parts for bassett horn in F as well as a second part for clarinet in B-flat.

Table of Contents:
  • Concert Piece No. 1, Op. 113
  • Concert Piece No. 2, Op. 114

    Publisher: G. Henle
    Composer/Author: Mendelssohn, Felix
    Catalog Number: HN1067

  • Related Products: