Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Sonata in C Minor, Op. 45 - Violin and Piano

Price: $28.76


Grieg's Third Violin Sonata is one of his major creations and stands alongside the sonatas of Johannes Brahms and Cesar Franck at the pinnacle of late nineteenth century chamber music. One small measure of the work's renown is its occurrence in Thomas Mann's novel Doktor Faustus. The sonata has been growing more popular ever since its first publication, and it now appears in an urtext edition from Henle. A preface and detailed editorial notes provide interesting background material on the work's source tradition.

Edited by Egon Voss, with fingerings in the piano part provided by Einar Steen-Nokleberg and fingerings in the violin part provided by Ernst Schliephake.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegro molto ed appassionato
  • II. Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza
  • III. Allegro animato

    Publisher: G. Henle
    Composer/Author: Grieg, Edvard
    Arranger/Editor: Voss, Egon
    Catalog Number: HN700
    Pages: 57

  • Loading...