Open 11 to 4, Mon-Sat. In-store and curbside service available. Full COVID-19 Details

Fantasia and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 904 - Sax Quintet SAATB

Catalog Number: ADV7543

Price: $19.76

Out of Stock

This item is not in stock. You may order it in any quantity and we will send it as soon as it arrives from the publisher. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer for imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Bach composed this piece around 1725 at the beginning of his Leipzig years. The character of the "Fantasie" is serious and grave; even in the interludes a contemplative mood prevails. Its concerto form is strictly symmetrical: the main theme appears four times with three interludes between. The four-part double "Fugue" exemplifies Bach's superior contrapuntal craftsmanship as he combines two contrasting themes---one that's diatonic, rhythmic and agile, and another that consists of a descending chromatic line.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Advance Music
Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
Arranger/Editor: Muhlenhardt, Olaf
Catalog Number: ADV7543
Pages: 0