Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Concerto in F Major Op. 75 - Bassoon and Piano

Price: $25.16


Carl Maria von Weber composed his Bassoon Concerto in Novermber 1811.  Georg Friedrich Brandt, principal bassoonist in the Munich Court Orchestra, gave the first performance the following month.  The year 1811 was also the year of three premieres by Brandt's orchestral colleague, Heinrich Baermann, of the Clarinet Concertino and two Concertos.  In 1822 Weber submitted the manuscript to his publisher and the parts, but not the score, were printed in 1823.

Weber's practice in notating the solo part was to indicate articulations only in select passages, leaving most such decisions to the soloist.  This was reflected in the original printing of 1823.  Subsequent editions have tended to be more practical and fill in the missing ariticulations, however not showing which markings were original and which were editorial.

The Universal Edition (UE18131), first published in 1990, seeks to present the music as seen in the 1823 printing, edited by William Waterhouse.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro ma non troppo
  • 2. Adagio
  • 3. Rondo: Allegro

    Publisher: Universal
    Composer/Author: Weber, C. M. von
    Arranger/Editor: Waterhouse, William
    Catalog Number: UE18131

  • Loading...