Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Concerto No. 5 in A Minor, Op. 37 - Violin and Piano

Price: $20.66

Amongst Vieuxtemps' seven violin concertos, the fifth in a minor is doubtlessly the best known and most popular by far. It was composed in 1860/61 as an obligatory examination piece for the violin class of his friend Hubert Leonard at the Brussels Conservatory, but then soon made its way into the concert hall. It owes its popularity not only to the brilliant violin part but also to the unusual form of the three movements that merge into one another without interruption. The violinist and musicologist Ray Iwazumi is not only the editor of this edition but also undertook the bowings for the solo part. The preface was penned by the Belgian expert on Vieuxtemps, Marie Cornaz. Piano reduction by Jahannes Umbreit. Supplementary version of Vieuxtemps's Cadenza no. 1 by Eugene Ysaye.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: G. Henle
Composer/Author: Vieuxtemps, Henri
Arranger/Editor: Iwazumi/Ysaye
Catalog Number: HN1257
Pages: 53