Is your organization tax exempt?  Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Variations for Piano

Price: $30.20

Out of Stock

You may order out-of-stock items in any quantity and we will send them as soon as they arrive back in stock. Back orders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer. Please call or email with specific timing concerns.


Mozart wrote paino variations throughout his career; the ealiest examples date from 1766, while the last work originated in 1791, the year of his death. On his concert tours Mozart drew storms of applause for his improvisations. His sets of variations were written in immediate response to these extempore performances, drawing mainly on the substance oft he theme and its painistic adornment.

This performing edition contains all of Mozart’s piano variations, including the surviving fragments. It consists of the definitive Urtext from the New Mozart Edition, a byword in absolute reliability and an indispensable basis for performances on the highest artistic level.

Table of Contents:
  • Eight Variations on the chorus "Dieu d'amour" F major K. 352 (374c)
  • Eight Variations on the song "Ein Weib ist das herrlichsteDing" F major K. 613
  • Eight Variations on the song "Laat ons Juichen Batavieren!" by Christian Ernst Graaf G major K. 24 (
  • Five variations on "Unser dummer Pöbel meint" by Christoph Willibald Gluck G major K. 455
  • Nine Variations on a minuet by Jean Pierre Duport D major K. 373
  • Nine Variations on the arietta "Lison dormait" C major K. 264 (315d)
  • Seven Variations on the Dutch song "Willem van Nassau" D major K. 25
  • Siv Variations on "Mio caro Adone" G major K. 180 (173c)
  • Six Variations on the aria "Salve tu, Domine" F major K. 398 (416e)
  • Ten Variations on the arietta "Unser dummer Pöbel meint" G major K. 455
  • Theme for a set of variations for organ or piano C major K. Anh. 38 (383d)
  • Twelve Variations on a minuet by Johann Christian Fischer C major K. 179 (189a)
  • Twelve Variations on an Allegretto B-flat major K. 500
  • Twelve Variations on the French song "Ah, vous dirai-je Maman" C major K. 265 (300e)
  • Twelve Variations on the French song "La belle Françoise" E-flat major K. 353 (300f)
  • Twelve Variations on the romance "Je suis Lindor" E-flat major K. 354 (299a)
  • Two variations on "Come un'agnello" A major K. 460 (454a)

  • Publisher: Barenreiter
    Composer/Author: Mozart, W. A.
    Arranger/Editor: Fischer, Kurt von
    Catalog Number: BA5746
    Pages: 180