Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Organ Works

Price: $27.95


Although Leos Janacek played the organ from his youth onwards, achieving a high standard as a performer and improviser, he composed only a few works for the instrument.

This volume of his complete organ works, based on the Critical Complete Edition of the Works of Leos Janacek, contains three pieces from his period of study in Prague 1874-75 (“Overture, Varyto” and “Choral Fantasy”), “Two Pieces for Organ” self-published in 1884, and above all the Postludium, the penultimate part of the famous and much later Glagolitic Mass (1926). This independent Intermezzo in the style of a passacaglia, which the author simply called “Organ solo,” demonstrates Janacek’s original and highly expressive compositional style.

  • Urtext based on the “Complete Critical Edition of the Works of Leos Janacek”
  • New foreword by Jiri Zahradka (Cz/Eng/Ger)
  • Detailed description of sources in the foreword

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Predehra / Präludium / Prelude
  • 2. Varyto
  • 3. Chorální fantasie / Choral-Phantasie / Chorale Fantasia
  • 4. Dve skladby pro varhany / Zwei Kompositionen für Orgel / Two Pieces for Organ
  • 5. Msa glagolskaja / Glagolitische Messe / Galgolitic Mass

    Publisher: Barenreiter
    Composer/Author: Janacek, Leos
    Arranger/Editor: Bucek and Faltus
    Catalog Number: BA9524

  • Loading...