Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Complete Organ Works, Volume 2

Price: $43.15


Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin . From 1891 onwards he worked as director of the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee.

As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact on American organ music: even Ferruccio Busoni called him a "master of counterpoint" and the greatest contrapuntal composer since J. S. Bach.

The Concerto for Organ is a masterpiece of contrapuntal inversion. The thematic material of all five movements is taken from the theme of the great Organ Fugue in E minor BWV 584/2 by Johann Sebastian Bach. The “Canonic Fantasy” is in the form of a passacaglia, whose theme and contrapuntal inversions are taken from the BACH motif. The virtuoso “Perpetuum mobile” for pedal solo is one of the works which Middelschulte performed most frequently.

  • First Urtext edition of Middelschulte’s complete organ works
  • Each volume contains a detailed foreword and Critical Commentary (Ger/Eng)

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Concerto for organ on a theme by J. S. Bach
  • 2. Canonical fantasy about BACH and Fugue on 4 topics of J. S. Bach
  • 3. Perpetual Motion

    Publisher: Barenreiter
    Composer/Author: Middelschulte, W.
    Arranger/Editor: Meyer & Sonnentheil
    Catalog Number: BA8492

  • Related Products: