Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Complete Works - Violin and Piano

Price: $27.00

Out of Stock - Special Order


Handel returned repeatedly throughout his life to the composition of works for violin and basso continuo. The earliest autograph, HWV 358, was composed around 1707, his last work for this combination of instruments, the Sonata in D major, HWV 371, stems from circa 1750.

In addition to the 5 sonatas, which have survived as autographs, there are 4 other sonatas of a spurious nature which have found a place in the violin repertoire under Handel’s name although they are certainly not from his pen. These sonatas are attempts by other unknown composers to make a name by using the style of the great master. To round off this first ever publication of Handel's Complete Works for Violin and Basso continuo, there are two movements currently not available in any other performing edition: the Allegro, HWV 408 and an Andante, HWV 412.

The Authoritative Performing Edition

  • Edition with the recently-revised Urtext of the Halle Handel Edition
  • First ever performing edition of the complete works for violin and basso continuo in one volume
  • With separate violin and continuo bass parts, the latter with figures
  • Basso continuo part with figures including 2 movements not available in any other performing edition
  • Includes valuable comments on performance practice
  • An Associated Board recommended title

Table of Contents:
  • 01. Sonata in G major, HWV 358
  • 02. Sonata in D minor, HWV 359
  • 03. Sonata in A major, HWV 361
  • 04. Sonata in G minor, HWV 364
  • 05. Sonata in D major, HWV 371
  • 06. Sonata in G minor, HWV 368
  • 07. Sonata in F major, HWV 370
  • 08. Sonata in A major, HWV 372
  • 09. Sonata in E major, HWV 373
  • 10. Allegro in C minor, HWV 408
  • 11. Andante in A minor, HWV 412

    Publisher: Barenreiter
    Composer/Author: Handel, G. F.
    Arranger/Editor: Best, Terence
    Catalog Number: BA4226

  • Loading...