Open 11 to 4, Mon-Sat. Curbside service available. Full COVID-19 Details

Concerto in C major - Viola and Piano

Catalog Number: BA11531-90

Price: $16.16

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.


The Bohemian composer Jan Krtitel Vanhal/Johann Baptist Vanhal (1739–1813) settled in Vienna around 1763. There he wrote several concertos for various instruments, of which two for viola have survived. Both are evidently not original compositions, but arrangements by Vanhal of some of his own works, a common practice of that time. The Viola Concerto in C major is based on Vanhal's cello concerto in the same key.

Our new revised edition makes this Concerto available once again. The solo part contains cadenzas for each movement.

  • Popular repertoire piece from the Viennese classical period
  • Idiomatic piano reduction
  • Solo part revised by Jan Plichta
  • New trilingual Foreword by Phillip Schmidt (Ger/Cz/Eng)

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegro moderato
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Allegro molto

  • Publisher: Bärenreiter
    Composer/Author: Vanhal, J. B.
    Arranger/Editor: Plichta/Blazek
    Catalog Number: BA11531-90
    Pages: 47


    Related Products: