Pieces de Concours (Competition Pieces) Vol. 1 - Viola and Piano

Catalog Number: ED22254

Price: $26.99

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. We will notify you as soon as possible of any discrepancies. You may also call or email us to confirm in-stock quantities.

The three-volume edition Pieces de concours for viola and piano is a real treasure trove in the scarce Romantic viola repertoire: Even today, it is common practice at the Conservatoire de Paris that all instrumentalists perform at their final examination a compulsory contemporary piece, the 'piece de concours', which, with its technical, virtuoso and lyrical demands, shall demonstrate the skills of the new 'masters'. The first of these examination pieces dates from 1896, the year which saw the first viola class at the Paris Conservatoire. Today, many of these pieces have fallen into oblivion. Only George Enescu's Konzertstuck (1908) and Concerto in G-Dur by Hans Sitt (1899) respectively have become part of the standard viola repertoire. In the present edition, 'modern' fingerings and bowing indications have been added to the pieces in order to make it easier to access these works and facilitate sight-playing.

Table of Contents:
  • Lefebvre: Caprice Op. 106
  • Rougnon: Concertino romantique, Op. 138
  • Rougnon: Fantaisie de concert
  • Rougnon: Allegro appassionato
  • Honnore: Morceau de concert, Op. 23
  • Marteau: Chaconne in C major, Op. 8

Publisher: Schott
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Puchhammer-Sedillot
Catalog Number: ED22254
Pages: 62

Related Products: