Is your organization tax exempt?  Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Tibetan Book of the Dead - Vocal Score (English)

Price: $70.00

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. Order any quantity: we will ship the in-stock copies right away and backorder the rest. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer in the case of imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.


Libretto by Jean-Claude van Itallie after the Buddhist teachings of the same name, The Tibetan Book of The Dead (or How Not to Do it Again) leads us through the stages we experience after death and our transition into the next life. It is at once a ritual, an oratorio in 17 set numbers, a requiem, a warning, and a theatrically-staged wake. The 8 characters include a baritone ("The Reader" leading the journey towards death, enlightenment, or rebirth), a soprano (first as "The Dying" and then as "The Dead") and another soprano, two mezzos, two tenors, and a bass, who play the various energies, demons, temptations, memories, and deities.

This vocal score includes all vocal parts with an accompanying piano reduction of the orchestral music. English text.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Presser
Composer/Author: Gordon, Ricky Ian
Catalog Number: 41141140
Pages: 190


Related Products: