Is your organization tax exempt?  Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

French Suites BWV 812-817 (Without Fingerings) - Piano Solo

Price: $18.86

1 left in stock.

The "in stock" quantity shown is generally accurate, but is not a guarantee of availability. Order any quantity: we will ship the in-stock copies right away and backorder the rest. Backorders average 1-2 weeks, but may take longer in the case of imports, items from small publishers, and temporarily out of print titles.

Johann Sebastian Bach's three great cycles of suites belong to the fundamental canon of piano literature: the Partitas and the so-called English and French Suites. It is the French Suites that have long been by far the most popular - and this was also the case at the time that they were written. However, this also creates problems for an editor preparing an Urtext edition, because a vast number of copies of them were made by Bach's circle of pupils, and these contain many presumably authentic variants. In this revised Henle Urtext edition, Ullrich Scheideler explains the complicated source situation with exemplary clarity. He lists the more minor source variants in footnotes; where there are major differences, both versions of individual movements are printed in full. Our opulent volume is rounded off with an appendix offering alternative and additional pieces. This Henle Urtext edition has been completely revised, and also offers new fingerings. It enables pianists and Bach enthusiasts alike to re-discover Bach's universe for themselves!

Table of Contents:
  • Suite I in D minor BWV 812
  • Suite II in C minor BWV 813
  • Suite III in B minor BWV 814
  • Suite IV in E flat major BWV 815
  • Suite V in G major BWV 816
  • Suite VI in E major BWV 817

  • Publisher: G. Henle
    Composer/Author: Bach, J. S.
    Catalog Number: HN1593
    Pages: 98


    Related Products: