Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Concerto in A Minor Op. 53 - Violin and Piano

Price: $16.15

Dvorak’s Violin Concerto was composed between 1879 and 1882, with the active assistance of Joseph Joachim, and was issued by the publisher Fritz Simrock, Berlin in 1883. Its premiere took place in October of that same year with Frantisek Ondricek as soloist. This new Urtext edition is based on the first edition (score, solo violin part, piano reduction and orchestral parts). It also takes Dvorak’s autograph which served as a master copy for the engraving into consideration. A fresh assessment of Dvorak’s manuscript made it possible to reconstruct several variants ignored in the first and subsequent editions and to clarify ambiguities in the notation and articulation. An important component of our Urtext edition is the original piano reduction, which probably stems from Dvorak himself, and in which Joseph Joachim’s fingering is published.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Barenreiter
Composer/Author: Dvorak, Antonin
Catalog Number: BA10422-90