Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Bassoon Concerto in F Major - Bass Clarinet and Piano

Price: $24.00


Carl Stamitz (1745-1801) was a prominent member of the second generation of Mannheim composers of the Classical era. He wrote more than 60 concertos, including seven solo concertos for bassoon. Alea is pleased to publish Andrew Sprung's outstanding transcription of Stamitz' Bassoon Concerto in F Major for bass clarinet and piano.

The original keys are maintained in this transcription, placing the bass clarinet part in G Major for movements 1 and 3 and C Major for movement 2. While the original range is to low written D, alternative passages are provided for performance on a low E-flat instrument. There are cadenzas in the first and second movements of this concerto. This edition includes two virtuosic cadenzas for bass clarinet to low C and two cadenzas of moderate difficulty for bass clarinet to low E-flat.

This three-movement work allows for practical study of Classical style and is an excellent choice for performance in a recital, contest, jury, or audition.

Table of Contents:
  • 1. Allegro maestoso
  • 2. Molto adagio
  • 3. Poco presto

    Publisher: Alea Publishing
    Composer/Author: Stamitz, Carl
    Arranger/Editor: Sprung, Andrew
    Catalog Number: ALEA1185

  • Related Products: