Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Schott Recorder Anthology Vol. 2 - French and Spanish Music

Price: $18.86


The Schott Recorder Consort Anthology presents a wealth of music from the fifteenth to the seventeenth centuries. Although the bulk of the collection is laid out for a variety of four-part ensembles, there are also duets and trios, as well as five- and six-part pieces.

The repertoire includes both original instrumental works and transcriptions of vocal pieces. There are lively and stately dances, fantasias, and arrangements of expressive madrigals, catchy chansons and more restrained religious pieces; all are chosen for their effective realization by recorder consorts. The complete series of 6 volumes includes 136 Renaissance pieces with notes on sources, editorial technique and interpretation.

Volume 2: French and Spanish Music includes 22 ensembles for 2-6 recorders in various combinations of soprano/descant, alto/treble, tenor, and bass.:

  • Anonymous: L'Amour de moy I (ST)
  • Anonymous: L'Amour de moy II (STT)
  • A. Willaert: Allons, allons gay (SAT)
  • C. de Sermisy: Jouissance vous donneray (SATB)
  • C. de Sermisy: Il me suffit (SATB) 
  • Anonymous: Gentil Mareschal (SATB)
  • P. Sandrin: Douce Memoire (ATTB)
  • R. de Lassus: Bon jour, mon coeur (SSAT)
  • E. du Caurroy: Fantasie sur Ave Maris Stella (SATB)
  • Anonymous: Three Dances from the Philidor Collection (SSATTB)
  • J. Planson: Ma Bergère, ma lumière (SATB)
  • Anonymous: La zorrilla con el gallo (SAT)
  • Anonymous: Propinán de Melyor (SAT) 
  • J. de Anchieta: En memoria d'Alixandre (ATTB)
  • F. de la Torre: Alta (SAT)
  • Anonymous: Ora baila tu (SAT)
  • Anonymous: Riu riu chiu (SSAT)
  • Anonymous: Fantasie (AA)
  • A. de Cabezón: Tiento (SATB)
  • F. Guerrero: Ojos claros, serenos (AATT)
  • G. de Wert: De que sirven ojos morenos (SSATB)
  • J. del Encina: No tienen vado mis males (ATTB)

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Schott
Composer/Author: Various
Arranger/Editor: Bernard Thomas
Catalog Number: ED12388
Pages: 34