Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Concerto in B-flat Major - Violin and Piano

Price: $28.17


The present first edition of the Violin Concerto in B Flat major by Michael Haydn (1737-1806) is based upon two sources:

1. A photographic copy of the autograph score in the National-Museum, Budapest. The MS. bears the title "Concerto per il Violino, 2 Violini Ripieni, Viola e Basso del Michel Hayden." On the last page of the MS. is the date "20 XII. 1760."

2. An MS. copy of the score, owned by the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna. the title: "Concerto a 5. Violino Prinzipale, 2 Violini, Viola e Basso del Sig. J. M. Maydn." Curiously, the concerto is listed in Perfer's thematic catalogue of Michael Haydn's works as "unlocated."

Neither of the sources is consistent with regard to phrasing dynamic markings. The extremely sparse phrasing in the autograph was added to by the editor, in part on the basis of the MS. copy. The markings "solo" and "tutti" are contained in both sources. Whether or not the solist plays the tutti sections is a matter of personal choice.

We extend our appreciation to Dr. Hedwif Kraus for her kind permission to study the MS. copy owned by the Gesellschaft der Musickfreunde, and to Mr. H. C. Robbins Landon for supplying the photographics copy of the Budapest autograph.


-Paul Angerer

Vienna May 1960

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Doblinger
Composer/Author: Haydn, Michael
Arranger/Editor: Angerer, Paul
Catalog Number: DM0003A