Is your organization tax exempt?  Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Royal Conservatory Saxophone Repertoire - Level 1

Price: $28.76

Out of Stock - Special Order


Unparalleled in scope, this groundbreaking series for E-flat Alto and B-flat Tenor offers a single collection of Repertoire and supporting materials written or arranged specifically for saxophone. With Repertoire spanning from the Baroque to contemporary eras, Recordings, Etudes, Technique, and Orchestral Excerpts, this comprehensive series serves as a balanced and organized pedagogical resource from the beginner to advanced levels of study.

Nine progressive volumes of Repertoire expose students to original works and arrangements of diverse styles from W.A. Mozart to Violet Archer, with selected works by notable jazz artist Paul Desmon (Take Five), and living composer Phil Woods. Each level provides opportunities to explore Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and contemporary works, with original, unaccompanied selections from Levels 5 through 8 that use extended techniques such as multiphonics, key clicks, and bisbigliando. Earlier works pre-dating the origin of the saxophone have been carefully arranged with consideration of the unique quality of the instrument. Exposure to these works help to develop musicianship and an understanding of tonality, creating well-rounded and versatile performers. Selections written for both E-flat Alto and B-flat Tenor include piano accompaniments that function with both instruments.

Table of Contents:
  • E-flat Saxophone:
  • Ave Verun Corpus, K. 618 (Mozart)
  • Calm as the Night (Still wie die Nacht) Op. 326, No. 27 (Bohm)
  • Cielito Lindo (Cortes)
  • Galloping Across the Prairies (Clarke)
  • Great Scott (Niehaus)
  • Gymnopedie No. 2 (Satie)
  • Here Comes the Parade! (Glazunov)
  • Horseshoe Shuffle (Calland)
  • Moonglow (Wedgwood)
  • What is Beauty but a Breath? (Greaves)
  • B-flat Saxophone:
  • A Joyous Tune (Rascher)
  • Good News! (18th Century French Carol)
  • Londonderry Air (Irish Folk Song)
  • Minuet in D Minor, BWV anh. 132 (J. S. Bach)
  • Sweet Betsy from Pike (American Folk Song)
  • The Sidewalks of New York (Lawlor)

  • Publisher: RCM Publishing
    Composer/Author: Various
    Catalog Number: WS1