Questions? Call Us: 800-969-4772

Tax exempt? Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

6 Wuttenberg Sonatas, Wq. 49 - Piano

Price: $26.78

Out of Stock - Special Order


Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's “Württemberg Sonatas” – named after their dedication to Carl Eugen Duke of Würt­temberg who studied with Bach at the court of Frederick the Great in Berlin – were published in 1744. Together with the “Prussian Sonatas” edited two years before, the “Württemberg Sonatas” are undoubtedly the most significant German piano compositions from the time between Johann Sebastian Bach and Joseph Haydn. They are regarded as main works among the general piano art music and clearly stand out from the expressive and playful rococo style of that time.

The publication of the “Württemberg Sonatas” edited by Rudolf Steglich in 1928 is a perfect example for considering musicological as well as performance practical aspects within one edition. With this present special edition, the publisher complies with the request for a republication of the Sonatas which have been unavailable for a long time.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Barenreiter
Composer/Author: Bach, C. P. E.
Arranger/Editor: Steglich, Rudolf
Catalog Number: BA6498
Pages: 53