Concerto No. 2 in E-flat Major, Op. 57 - Clarinet and Piano

Price: $23.36

Out of Stock - Special Order


Louis Spohr's concertos have long been a standard feature in the clarinet repertoire, but up to now they have suffered due to a lackof reliable editions. In order to fill this gap, G. Henle Publishers is now following its edition of the Concerto No. 1 in c minor (HN 995) with a critical edition of the Concerto No. 2 in E flat. This is the only one of Spohr's four clarinet concertos in a major key, and its buoyant atmosphere and joie de vivre remain captivating - especially in the final, “alla polacca” movement.

For this edition, Ullrich Scheideler has consulted both the first edition of 1822, published in Leipzig, as well as an important early manuscript. A new, practical, easy-to-play piano arrangement of the orchestral accompaniment has been made by Christoph Sobanski. The orchestral parts may be hired from Breitkopf & Härtel.

Table of Contents:
  • I. Allegro
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Rondo alla Polacca

  • Publisher: G. Henle
    Composer/Author: Spohr, Louis
    Arranger/Editor: Scheideler, Ulrich
    Catalog Number: HN996