Is your organization tax exempt?  Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Kreisler for Alto Saxophone - Alto Sax and Piano

Price: $19.79

Fritz Kreisler (1875–1962) was celebrated as one of the greatest violinists of all time. His brilliant technique and rich tone produced a characteristic sound that was and remains immediately identifiable. This collection features six pieces that Kreisler composed or transcribed for violin and piano, in turn transcribed for alto saxophone and piano. Especially well known are the original pieces Liebesleid and Schön Rosmarin, both of which Kreisler attributed to the now-forgotten composer Joseph Lanner. Caprice Viennois and Rondino on a Theme of Beethoven are likewise original pieces from early in Kreisler’s career, which he would regularly feature as concert encores. The Old Refrain and Midnight Bells are transcriptions, the former of a Viennese popular song and the latter of an excerpt from the operetta Der Opernball by Richard Heuberger. In these six transcriptions, the instrument changes, yet the value remains.

Table of Contents:
  • Caprice Viennois (Viennese Caprice)
  • Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow)
  • Midnight Bells (Heuberger)
  • Rondino on a Theme of Beethoven
  • Schon Rosmarin (Fair Rosmarin)
  • The Old Refrain

    Publisher: Carl Fischer
    Composer/Author: Kreisler, Fritz
    Arranger/Editor: Gurewich & Leeson
    Catalog Number: WF236

  • Loading...