Is your organization tax exempt?  Please click here for instructions before placing your order.

Winter Illuminations - Piano

Price: $4.95

The four movements of Winter Illuminations take the listener on an exciting journey through several scenes of the season. The first movement, "Snowfall Prelude," paints the image of drifting snowflakes through mesmerizing ostinatos and soft, jazz-inspired harmonies. In "Warm, Cozy Moments," the second movement, the extended harmonies continue as expressive, held chords, and a dreamlike section features gentle left-hand melodic fragments and cross-hand gestures. The third movement, "Gliding on the Ice," uses 5/4 meter, Lydian mode, and perpetual rising and falling scales to create the image of graceful ice skaters. Challenging the player's stamina and finger technique, the fourth movement, "North Wind Toccata," includes incessant right-hand 16th notes and rising left-hand arpeggios and crossovers. Chasing-hand figures up and down the keyboard, along with rapidly changing dynamics, create an exciting conclusion to the suite.

Table of Contents:
  • Gliding on the Ice
  • North Wind Toccata
  • Snowfall Prelude
  • Warm, Cozy Moments

    Publisher: Alfred
    Composer/Author: Rossi, Wynn-Anne
    Catalog Number: 00-47927
    Pages: 12

  • Loading...